ReviewsRAMG.Skill Ripjaws S5 6000MHz DDR5 Kit Review

G.Skill Ripjaws S5 6000MHz DDR5 Kit Review

Is the G.SKILL RIPJAWS S5 6000MHz DDR5 RAM really the best value for money? How well does it stand against the competition? Let's find out in this in-depth review.

Expert Verified By

Great High Performance DDR5 RAM?

Review Summary

The G.Skill Ripjaws S5 6000MHz CL30 is the best of both worlds when it comes to value for money and performance. With a durable build quality and limited lifetime warranty, this is easily a hand-picked kit for mainstream users.
Tech4Gamers Recommended Award

Overall
8.6/10
8.6/10
  • Performance - 9/10
    9/10
  • Overclocking - 8.5/10
    8.5/10
  • Value - 9/10
    9/10
  • Design - 8/10
    8/10

Pros

  • Good Speed
  • Tight Timing
  • Intel XMP 3.0
  • Brushed Aluminum Heat Spreader
  • Low Profile Design
  • Better Build Quality
  • Limited Life Time Warranty

Cons

  • None

We got opportunities to test a few DDR5 kits; this content is all about the test results of those DDR5 kits. The G.Skill Ripjaws S5 Series DDR5 kit, operating at 6000MHz with CL30 timings, offers a substantial 32GB capacity in a 16GBx2 configuration. This review focuses on the black variant, evaluating its performance and features.


Key Takeaways

  • The G.Skill Ripjaws S5 6000 MHz is perfect for anyone searching for a capable low-profile DDR5 module.
  • The G.Skill Ripjaws S5 6000 MHz is not for those looking for an RGB kit.
  • The G.Skill Ripjaws S5 6000 MHz provides decent value, a low-profile design, and fast speeds.

Specifications

ProductG.Skill Ripjaws S 32GB 6000MHz CL30 Kit
Memory TypeDDR5
Capacity32GB (16GBx2)
Multi-Channel KitDual Channel Kit
Tested Speed (XMP/EXPO)6000 MT/s
Tested Latency (XMP/EXPO)30-40-40-96
Tested Voltage (XMP/EXPO)1.35V
Registed/UnbufferedUnbuffered
Error CheckingNon-ECC
SPD Speed (Default)4800 MT/s
SPD Voltage (Default)1.10V
Fan IncludedNo
WarrantyLimited Lifetime
FeaturesIntel XMP 3.0 Ready

Packing Box

There is nothing fancy about most RAM kits when it comes to their packing box except for some enthusiast-grade kits like CORSAIR DOMINATOR, for example.

Design

Let’s take a closer look at the kit, followed by the test results with overclocking.

The RAM sticks in all their glory
The RAM sticks in all its glory (Image By Tech4Gamers)

G.Skill Ripjaws S5 kits are available in the following transfer rates, capacities, timing latencies, and voltages:

Transfer SpeedsCapacity LatencyVoltage Range
DDR5-520032GBCAS281.10V
DDR5-560048GBCAS301.25V
DDR5-600064GBCAS321.30V
DDR5-640096GBCAS341.35V
DDR5-6600CAS361.40V
DDR5-6800CAS38
CAS40

Measuring 132x33x5mm (LxHxW), the G.Skill Ripjaws S5 Series DDR5 kit boasts a low-profile design at 33mm, facilitated by its aluminum heat spreader. This ensures ample clearance for most air coolers. It features a non-ECC, Unbuffered DIMM with a 288-pin DDR5 layout. Click here to check the compatibility of this kit with various motherboards. The RIPJAWS S5 kit features an aluminum heat spreader with a matte black or white finish.

In my opinion, the simple design is still quite eye-catching. Additionally, the provision of a solid aluminum heat spreader makes it easy to vent the heat. Moving on to the black PCB of the kit, it exposes notches on the left and right sides for motherboard lockers. Moreover, the top features a minimalistic design with “G.SKILL” printed in white, devoid of RGB lighting. The compact design is unlikely to obstruct AIO pump housing tubes.

The backside features an identical layout on both sides with a white info label sticker. The part number, Intel XMP profile data, and manufacturing date (Dec 2022) are printed. A checksum number (4369) and a serial number are also included. The module side has 8 chips, each with a 2GB capacity, including a central PMIC chip. SK Hynix chips are used in G.Skill Ripjaws S5 kits.

I found that a single thin thermal pad runs across the entire length of the heat spreader on the populated side of the PCB. I am not sure if PMIC also has a thermal pad covering. The opposite side of the PCB shows that it is an unpopulated area with thick foam padding running in two groups leaving the central side exposed.

Closer look at the PCB
A closer look at the PCB (Image By Tech4Gamers)

The PCB is protruding from the sides of the heat spreader. This is to make room so that latching can be done when installing the modules in the socket. We can see how slim this kit is.

Next to a low-profile Sabrent RAM
Next to a low-profile Sabrent RAM (Image By Tech4Gamers)

G.Skill Ripjaws S5 kit has a similar height compared to another low-profile kit from Sabrent.

SPD info from AIDA64 Engineer
SPD info from AIDA64 Engineer (Image By Tech4Gamers)

The above is the SPD readout as taken from the AIDA64 Engineer edition. A single module of the G.Skill Ripjaws S5 6000 CL 30 has 32 banks featuring SK Hynix chips. The Memory Controller Voltage in XMP 3.0 is 1.10V.

Thaiphoon Burner Info
Thaiphoon Burner Info (Image By Tech4Gamers)

Thaiphoon Burner shows Hynix as a manufacturer of dies employed in this G.Skill kit. This is a single-rank kit. PMIC chip is RICHTEK RTQ5132GQWF. I am not sure about the die type, but after having a chat with Mr. Jon Coulter from TweakTown, our consensus is these are probably M-Die.

BIOS

We can see that no less than 16GB per kit density is available in this series. This kit supports XMP 3.0 and EXPO. Let’s take a look at the BIOS.

Testing

We will be using the mentioned configuration for future RAM testing:

We are thankful to our sponsors for this test bench. The following software has been used for the testing:

  • AIDA64 Engineer
  • SiSoftware Sandra Suite
  • Performance Test
  • 3DMark Time Spy, Fire Strike
  • Super Pi
  • Cinebench R23[Multi]

Before testing, we loaded the XMP 3.0 in UEFI BIOS. The timings and DRAM frequency were manually loaded just in case to ensure the kit was working properly.

CPU-Z Screenshots
CPU-Z Screenshots (Image By Tech4Gamers)

The above is a CPU-Z screenshot. Looking closely, you will notice that the software is reporting the kit to be in quad-channel configuration. The reason for that is that with DDR5 kits, we have two channels per module, with each being 32-bit wide.

Results

Let’s take a look at the results.

AIDA64

SiSoft Sandra

Now, let’s take a look at the results from Sandra benchmarks.

Other Benchmarks

Here are the results from the remaining benchmarks.

Overclocking

We usually start overclocking the given kit by manually upping the frequency in a multiple of 100MHz at a time to test for stability and repeat this process until instability is achieved or where diminishing returns happen. Then we dial back to stock frequency and start tweaking timings.

We strive to achieve maximum frequency with tight timings. This is not an easy process and takes more time. With the G.Skill Ripjaws S5 kit, we only overclocked it to find a maximum stable frequency at XMP timings.

Our stable settings came as follows:

Memory Frequency Multiplier 6600MHz
Timings 30-40-40-96
Gear Mode Auto
VDD 1.42V
VQ 1.42V
VPP 1.80V
VCCSA 1.25V

We were able to achieve a +600MHz frequency boost. So, we repeated a few benchmarks to see the gain.

Should You Buy It?

Buy It If:

You want a capable DDR5 kit: With speeds of 6000 MHz, the G.Skill Ripjaws S5 provides excellent performance.

You prefer a low-profile module: The absence of RGB makes it a fairly compact stick, perfect for small form factor builds.

Don’t Buy It If:

You want RGB: The G.Skill Ripjaws S5 6000 MHz does not feature RGB lighting.

You want overclocking capabilities: While we were able to achieve a 600 Mhz increase in clock speeds, its overclocking capabilities fall short when compared to other DDR5 modules.

Conclusion

G.Skill Ripjaws S5, a DDR5 memory series, strikes a balance in performance, compatibility, and stability. It features a low-profile design (133x33x5mm) and lacks RGB lighting for a sleek look, offering excellent compatibility.

Enabling XMP, though from Intel, surprisingly voids the CPU warranty, as it overclocks RAM above JEDEC defaults. Ripjaws S5, a mainstream choice, competes well with enthusiasts’ Trident series. The non-RGB aesthetics, one-sided PCB populated with Richtek’s PMIC chip (no thermal pad confirmation), and Hynix M-Type die to contribute to its simplicity. Warranty void stickers on module removal are noteworthy.

We have tested the kit on the GIGABYTE Z790 AORUS ELITE AX using Intel i7-13700K. This motherboard can support RAM of up to 7200MHz speed. The G.Skill Ripjaws S5 kit, priced at USD 159.99 on NewEgg, boasts a performance advantage with its CAS latency of 30 at 6000MHz compared to the XPG Lancer RGB kit’s CL40 at the same frequency. Additionally, the G.Skill kit can be overclocked to 6600MHz, providing a notable performance boost.

G.Skill offers a competitive price and a limited lifetime warranty for the Ripjaws S5. This is a retail unit we buy to review and later use in one of our lab’s builds.

Awards Received By The G.Skill Ripjaws S5

Here are the Tech4Gamers awards received by the G.Skill Ripjaws S5.

  1. Best Value DDR5 RAM
  2. Best Value RAM For Gaming
  3. Best Value RAM For i7-14700K
  4. Best Value RAM For i9-13900KS
  5. Best Value RAM For Ryzen 9 7900X3D
  6. Best Value RAM For Ryzen 9 7950X3D
  7. Best Value RAM For i5-14600KF
  8. Best Value RAM For Ryzen 7 7800X3D
  9. Best Overall RAM For i9-13900K
  10. Best RAM For i9-14900K
  11. Best Value RAM For i9-14900KF

Recent Updates


  • November 23, 2023: Few text changes to improve readability. Also added galleries

 
Was our article helpful? 👨‍💻

Thank you! Please share your positive feedback. 🔋

How could we improve this post? Please Help us. 😔

Related articles

Asgard BRAGI ROG Strix RGB 32GB DDR5-7200 CL34 Kit Review

The Asgard BRAGI ROG Strix RGB DDR5 7200MHz is a high-performance memory kit with good value for Asus Strix users looking for white RAM with RGB lighting. It offers competitive performance at 7200MHz. However, this kit might not be ideal for those who prioritize overclocking or need low-profile RAM due to cooler clearance issues.

The i9-14900K Is The Most Impractical CPU I have Ever Tested

The i9-14900K is the most impractical CPU because of its higher stock power limits but better performance output after being undervolted.

XPG Levante X 240 White ARGB Cooler Review

During my test of the XPG Levante X 240 White ARGB cooler, I was impressed by how well it handled the i7-13700K. It's versatile, fitting a wide array of Intel and AMD sockets, and comes ready with thermal paste, making it a champ at keeping things cool under pressure.

XPG Vento R 120 PWM ARGB White Fan Review: Style And Efficiency!

I have had a notably positive experience with the XPG Vento R 120 ARGB PWM Fans. Their distinctive reversed blades, designed for optimal airflow, not only enhance a PC case's aesthetic appeal but also significantly boost cooling efficiency.

Teamgroup T-Force Dark AirFlow I M.2 SSD Cooler Review

The T-Force Dark AirFlow I SSD Cooler delivers exceptional cooling performance for Gen5 and Gen4 SSDs with a robust build and efficient design, featuring copper heat pipes and a PWM fan. Despite its higher noise level at full speed, its adjustable PWM allows for a good balance of cooling and noise.

Similar Guides