ReviewsNetac Z RGB 32GB CL34 DDR5-7200 Kit Review: Very Reflective!

Netac Z RGB 32GB CL34 DDR5-7200 Kit Review: Very Reflective!

Here is another DDR5 kit to enter our test suite. I'll be benchmarking it over different applications and also testing its OC potential.

Expert Verified By

Should You Get It?

Review Summary

The Netac Z RGB DDR5 32GB kit offers high performance with 7200MHz speed and Intel XMP and AMD EXPO profiles. Its reflective chrome finish and subtle RGB lighting add visual appeal, though it is prone to fingerprints. The kit performs competitively in benchmarks but has limited overclocking potential. While it is well-built and stylish, its higher price may be a drawback for some buyers.

Hours Tested: 6
Tech4Gamers Recommended Award

Overall
8.6/10
8.6/10
  • Value - 7.5/10
    7.5/10
  • Performance - 9/10
    9/10
  • Quality - 9/10
    9/10
  • Features - 9/10
    9/10

Pros

  • Operates at 7200MT/s
  • RGB Lighting
  • Intel XMP 3.0 & AMD EXPO 0.9 Profile
  • Chrome/Silver Glass Finish with Aluminum heat spreader
  • Build Quality
  • Limited Life Time Warranty

Cons

  • Mediocre Overclocking Headroom
  • Price
  • AMD EXPO operating at 4800MHz

In this article, I am taking a look at our first kit from Netac. It is a Netac Z RGB DDR5 32GB kit. It has 1x XMP profile and 1x EXPO profile. This kit is a 2x16GB configuration with 7200MHz CL34 maximum transfer rate and latency. The part number of this kit is NTZED5P72DP-32S.

We could not get the retail price of this kit. It is expected to retail at around USD 140 mark.

Why Trust Tech4Gamers
  • Sameed Hussain is our hardware expert who has been testing graphics cards, processors, RAM, and motherboards for years.
  • 70+ RAM tested and reviewed by our team of hardware experts (Tech4Gamers Team).
  • 200+ hours spent testing different RAM for our reviews.
  • Objective testing criteria (See how we test RAM).

At Tech4Gamers, ensuring you get reliable information is our priority. That’s why every hardware round-up undergoes a meticulous review process by our team of experts and editors. Each review is carefully examined against our strict editorial guidelines, guaranteeing you trustworthy insights you can depend on.


Key Takeaways

  • The Netac Z RGB DDR5-7200 CL34 is high-performance with Intel XMP and AMD EXPO profiles programmed in it. Plus, its glass finish is too good-looking.
  • You should buy the Netac Z RGB DDR5-7200 CL34 if you want RAM with both XMP and EXPO profiles and a chrome reflective design.
  • You should not buy the Netac Z RGB DDR5-7200 CL34 if you want good OC potential, have RAM clearance concerns, or want the most value for your money.

Here are the specs:

Tested Frequency 7200MHz
Tested Latency CL34
RGB Yes
Colour Silver
Memory Voltage 1.40V
Rated Frequency 4800MHz
XMP Yes
EXPO Yes
Warranty Limited Lifetime

How Is Netac Z RGB DDR5 Different?

Netac Z RGB DDR5 has its own signature series. It is glass-finished on both sides of each module, which is reflective. This is further augmented by the tubular-looking design on the top, which has subtle A-RGB lighting effects. On top of that, this kit has performed well considering other 32GB DDR5 kits that we have tested. The only thing holding this kit back is its slightly high price tag.

Packing Box

The kit is shipped inside a hard container placed inside a paper-board box. The presentation is on the mark. The following are provided:

  • 2x16GB Modules
  • 1x DRAM Module Instruction
  • 1x Microfiber Cloth

Since the chrome finish is a fingerprint magnet, Netac should consider providing a pair of gloves.

Design

Let’s start by stating the salient features of the kit:

  • The kit is finished in highly reflective chrome
  • Subtle A-RGB Lighting Effects
  • Same Bank Refresh
  • Leverages on-board PMIC for a Stable and Quick Power Supply
  • Intel XMP 3.0 technology
  • AMD EXPO technology
  • PCB height is 31.25mm
  • Limited Lifetime Warranty

The Z RGB from Netac is a flagship memory kit from the manufacturer that is also available at other speeds, including 6000MHz, 6200MHz, 6600MHz, 7200MHz, 7600MHz, and 8000MHz. This kit conforms to JEDEC 4800MHZ base frequency.

The Netac Z RGB DDR5 kit has a dimension of 133.5×50.9×8.3mmm. This thickness is a tad less than the ASGARD BRAGI ROG STRIX kit. It was hard to capture the reflective surface of the module. You can see a stylish Z-letter texture on the aluminum plate. This kit has an on-die ECC, which comes in handy for real-time data correction. It is an unbuffered DIMM with a 288-pin layout. Unlike ASGARD DDR5 kits, this kit does not have a protective cover on the connector on each module.

WARNING: At 50.9mm tall, it may not fit under some large CPU air coolers, so verify clearance before purchasing.

The backside resembles the front view. There is a sticker on this side showing the model number, part number, speed, timing, and other parameters. Removing this sticker would void the warranty. The heat spreader is made of aluminum material. The CNC machining work is precise. Each module has 1Rx8, meaning a single rank design using 8 modules. This kit is made in China.

Top of the kit (Image By Tech4Gamers)
Top of the kit (Image By Tech4Gamers)

There is a stepped diffuser above the PCB. NETAC branding is written on the sides, and the diffuser with cover resembles a tubular design. This makes the A-RGB lighting quite subtle to my liking. I like how Netac has kept it to a minimal level.

The overall design is stylish, attractive, and bold. You just need to be careful while handling the modules as fingerprints are easily captured on the aluminum surface.

Thermal Padding (Image By Tech4Gamers)
Thermal Padding (Image By Tech4Gamers)

Netac uses black PCB. This is a single-rank design.  There is a black thick pad on the non-populated side of the PCB running on the entire length. Its width makes up for the width equalization on the opposite side.

The populated side of the PCB has a PMIC chip in the center. This PMIC chip has 4x memory chips on both sides. This gives a 32GB capacity overall in 1Rx8 using a 2G x 64-bit design. Netac has used a thermal pad over the memory chips.

Thaiphoon Burner (Image By Tech4Gamers)
Thaiphoon Burner (Image By Tech4Gamers)

This kit is probably manufactured in China by Netac in the 34th week of 2023. Netac has used Hynix chips that have part number H5CG48?EBDX018. The PMIC controller is from Richtek and has part number RTQ5132GQWF.

This kit has Intel XMP Revision 3.0 and AMD EXPO 0.9 profiles programmed. This kit has an SPD device having a model M88SPD5118A5-T. This tells me it is from Rambus Tech.

Reflective Chrome Surface
Reflective Chrome Surface (Image By Tech4Gamers)

A glance at how reflective the chrome surface is on this kit. This reminds me of the ASGARD BRAGA kit having same reflective finish.

RGB Lighting

This kit was tested on MSI Z790 MAX ACE WiFi, and RGB lighting was controlled using the MSI Mystic Sync app. The lighting was responding to the changes in the app. There is an even diffusion of the lights across the diffuser, and I appreciate the sublime lighting in this kit.

Testing

We are using the mentioned configuration for RAM testing:

We are thankful to our sponsors for this test bench. The following software has been used for the testing:

  • AIDA64 Engineer
  • SiSoftware Sandra Suite
  • Performance Test
  • 3DMark Time Spy
  • Super Pi

BIOS Run

I have checked, and there are a total of 2x profiles under XMP/EXPO. The profile data is:

  • Intel XMP: 7200MHz, 34-45-45-115, 1.400V
  • AMD EXPO: 4800MHz, 30-40-30-76, 1.100V

The JEDEC profile is 4800MHz, 42-40-40-77 at 1.10V.

PRO TIP: Use the Intel XMP profile for the best performance at 7200MHz, but also test the AMD EXPO profile if you’re using an AMD system.

CPU-Z and AIDA64 SPD Readouts

CPU-Z
CPU-Z (Image By Tech4Gamers)

The above is a CPU-Z screenshot. You can see that the software reports the kit to be in a quad-channel configuration. The reason for that is there are two 32-bit wide channels per module in DDR5 kits.

AIDA64 SPD (Image By Tech4Gamers)
AIDA64 SPD (Image By Tech4Gamers)

The above is an SPD readout from the AIDA64 Engineer edition.

Results

It is time to take a look at the results and see where this kit falls in the graphs. I am starting with the AIDA64 Engineer edition result. Technically, we would want to see this kit offering a competitive performance compared to other 7200MHz kits in the graphs.

AIDA64 Engineer

You can see competitive performance from the Netac Z RGB DDR5 32GB kit in Memory Read, Memory Write, and Memory Copy benchmarks. The latency performance on XMP is slightly less competitive. However, keep in mind that the software was updated so this could have impacted the scores somewhat.

Other Benchmark Software Results

Now, let’s take a look at the other benchmark results, starting with the SiSoft Sandra Software. This kit scored 2.85 KPT, beating all other kits operating at 7200MHz. In Super PI, this kit has got 306 seconds to complete the 32M PI computations.

This kit performed exceptionally well in the Performance Test, scoring 4220. We are seeing a similar performance in the 3DMARK Time Spy CPU Score result.

Overclocking

When it comes to overclocking, the Netac Z RGB DDR5 32GB kit has a mediocre performance. This kit was pushed to 7600MHz, which is a mere 400MHz higher than the tested frequency. It needed above 1.52V for 7800MHz and still was not stable. Everyone’s mileage would be different; hence it is important to know the configuration on which the overclocking is done. Here are the settings for this overclock:

Memory Frequency Multiplier 7600MHz
Timings 34-46-46-116
Gear Mode Auto
VDD A0 1.50V
VDDQ 1.50V
VPP 1.80V
VCCSA 1.280V
VDDQ CPU 1.350V
VDD2 CPU 1.350V

Results

Below are some results with the overclocking.

In the AIDA64 Memory benchmark, we are seeing a good boost in scores compared to the stock run. There is a performance boost of 3.64% in the Copy benchmark. There is a performance boost of 7.30% in the Write benchmark. There is a performance boost of 4.51% in the Read benchmark. The latency was further improved with this overclock. It came down to 58.9ns from 61.2ns. We have seen marginal gains in the Time Spy and Performance Test as well.

Should You Buy It?

Buy It If

✅Looking for a kit that offers XMP and EXPO profiles: If you want a kit that offers Intel XMP and AMD EXPO profiles under the hood, then the Netac Z RGB 32GB DDR5 7200MHz kit is a candidate.

✅If you are looking for a chrome/silver finish and color: This kit is finished in a highly reflective chrome (aluminum material). This adds quite some style and form to this kit.

Don’t Buy It If

❌If you are looking for a better overclocking DDR5 kit: This kit has a limited or mediocre overclocking headroom, so skip it if this is your main domain.

❌You have RAM clearance concerns: This is a high-profile RAM standing at 50.9mm height. This could be considered for CPU air coolers.

❌If you are looking for a better value kit: This kit is likely to retail at USD 140, which is a tad high price tag, considering that other same-speed/timing kits cost less.

Final Verdict

The Netac Z RGB DDR5 7200MHz CAS34 is a high-performance memory that would suit users looking for a silver color finish for their themed build.

The Z series of DDR5 kits are flagship offers from Netac and are available from 6000MHz to 8000MHz speeds.

The kit has a tested speed of 7200MHz with CL34 at 1.400V. It has an Intel XMP profile and an AMD EXPO profile. The XMP has 7200MHz, 34-45-45-115, 1.400V settings whereas the EXPO has 4800MHz, 30-40-30-76, 1.100V settings. The kit conforms to JEDEC 4800MHz.

I am not sure why Netac used 4800MHz speed on the EXPO profile, which could have provided more aggressive speed and timing on this kit, as AMD now supports high-speed kits.

This kit has an aluminum heat spreader and a reflective glass finish. This surface is more of a fingerprint magnet, and Netac has not provided gloves. The build quality is top-notch. The RGB Lighting effects are quite subtle and produce a good vibrance.

Speaking of performance, the Netac Z RGB DDR5 kit operating at 7200MHz CL34 is highly competitive and even managed to beat the other same-speed kits in some benchmarks. Netac offers a limited lifetime warranty.

 
Was our article helpful? 👨‍💻

Thank you! Please share your positive feedback. 🔋

How could we improve this post? Please Help us. 😔

Join Our Community

Still having issues? Join the Tech4Gamers Forum for expert help and community support!

Related articles

MSI MAG PANO 100L PZ Review: A Panoramic Powerhouse

The MSI MAG PANO 100L PZ is a well-designed ATX case offering a 270° panoramic view with clear glass front and side panels. It features a dual-chamber design, ample ventilation, support for backplug motherboards, and includes a vertical GPU bracket.

Why I Am Really Looking Forward To Zotac’s New Handheld

The Zotac Zone has a promising set of features along with decent specifications, which have me excited for its release.

I Tried These Settings And Now My PC Boots Up Way Quicker

These few tips aren't complicated and are rather a few steps long, and they help fix the annoying slow boot times.

BEST White PC Build In 2024 [Gaming With Looks]

After months of testing and reviews, we have rounded up the PC parts you need to build the best white PC build in 2024.

Why You Should Always Calculate RAM Latency

Calculating memory latency actually helps in choosing the right RAM that eliminates the annoying stutters and slowdowns.

Similar Guides