We finally have the latest news on Hogwarts Legacy. This Thursday, March 17th, a PlayStation State of Play webcast will be held for Hogwarts Legacy, a new open-world game set in the Harry Potter universe.


Hogwarts Legacy is an open-world adventure set in the 1800s at the legendary wizarding academy, first unveiled during PlayStation’s PS5 Showcase in September 2020. The project has been dogged by controversy and criticism from the outset, owing to J.K. Rowling’s history of transphobic attitudes and writings. Warner Bros. Games attempted to separate the game from Rowling the day after it was revealed, claiming she was not directly engaged in its creation.

The show will begin at 2 p.m. Pacific / 5 p.m. Eastern / 9 p.m. UK (that’s March 18 at 8 a.m. AEDT) will include “an extended first look at gameplay.” It will be broadcast on the Twitch and YouTube networks of PlayStation as stated by Chandler Wood (Community Manager)

“Avalanche Software and Warner Bros. Games are happy to partner with PlayStation to bring you a special edition of State of Play entirely dedicated to Hogwarts Legacy. The broadcast will begin this Thursday, March 17 at 2 PM PT / 5 PM ET / 10 PM CET” – Chandler Wood.

The program will last approximately 20 minutes, with 14 minutes of gameplay shot on the PS5. The remainder of the broadcast will also feature vital insights from the Avalanche Software team members, who are working to bring the wizarding experience to life.

Furthermore, Chandler Wood invites everyone to join the broadcast for more information. Other than that, there will also be some more information available after the broadcast itself on the Playstation blog.

Since the game’s announcement in September 2020, there’s been little information about it, so it’s anyone’s guess what Thursday’s showcase will focus on. Character development, as well as a thorough understanding of the game’s going-to-wizard-school milieu and set design, appear to be plausible candidates.

Hogwarts Legacy has been on the radar of a lot of people; when Hogwarts Legacy was first revealed, there were over 28 million views on the trailer alone, and it has been proven that people have always admired the idea and creativity behind Harry Potter and this is their chance to experience it first hand if Avalanche Software can fulfil on their promises.

The release date for Hogwarts Legacy has yet to be determined; perhaps that will be disclosed as well. The game will be released on PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Windows PC, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X.

Related News: GTA 6 Launching Sooner Than Expected

News reporter with years of experience who is creative and motivated. Excellent narrative abilities and a keen sense of the truth. Highly enthusiastic about the gaming and tech industry with a passion for writing.