ReviewsPower SupplyCorsair HX1200i Platinum Review: Is It Worth It?

Corsair HX1200i Platinum Review: Is It Worth It?

In this review, I'll share my experiences with the Corsair HX1200i after thoroughly testing it and comparing its performance with other power supplies I've tested.

Expert Verified By

Robust, Reliable, and Ready for the Future!

Review Summary

The Corsair HX1200i offers excellent voltage regulation and ripple performance, making it ideal for overclockers and high-end system builders. While its efficiency is slightly below expectations for a Platinum-rated PSU, its superior voltage ripple control and solid thermal performance make it a strong contender in the market.

Hours Tested: 8
Tech4Gamers Recommended Award

Overall
9.2/10
9.2/10
  • Performance - 9.4/10
    9.4/10
  • Build Quality - 9.6/10
    9.6/10
  • Efficiency - 9.2/10
    9.2/10
  • Value - 8.5/10
    8.5/10

Pros

  • Semi-silent fan operation upto 650W.
  • Amazing voltage ripple performance.
  • Software Controlled feature allows monitoring and full control over Single/Multi voltage rails.
  • 10 Years of warranty

Cons

  • No native 12VHPWR connector on the modular bay.
  • Its large size may have compatibility issues with PC cases.
  • Efficiency could be further improved.

While almost every major brand was in a rush to launch ATX3.X PSUs, Corsair’s PSU engineers were busy tweaking the existing OEM platforms as per their specific requirements (mainly from CWT) as they often do for their mid to high-end PSUs.

Corsair seems to be the only major PSU brand that demands slight changes in a PSU platform from the OEM, hence why their PSUs perform better in most demanding tests, i.e. voltage regulation and voltage ripple, compared to other PSU manufacturers.

Why Trust Tech4Gamers
  • Arsalan Shakil is our power supplies expert who loves to put the latest PSUs through their paces and even take them apart.
  • 20+ PSUs tested and reviewed by our team of hardware experts (Tech4Gamers Team).
  • 180+ hours spent testing different power supplies for our reviews.
  • Objective testing criteria (See how we test peripherals).

At Tech4Gamers, ensuring you get reliable information is our priority. That’s why every hardware round-up undergoes a meticulous review process by our team of experts and editors. Each review is carefully examined against our strict editorial guidelines, guaranteeing you trustworthy insights you can depend on.


Key Takeaways

  • The Corsair HX1200i is a high-end, fully modular ATX PSU that delivers 1200W of power with excellent voltage ripple performance, a semi-digital platform for enhanced efficiency, and quiet operation, making it suitable for overclocking and future-proofing high-end systems.
  • You should buy the Corsair HX1200i if you want high performance and don’t plan to upgrade your PSU for the next several years.
  • You should skip the Corsair HX1200i if your case does not have enough space for it.

Here are the specifications:

Cybenetics Efficiency Platinum
Cybenetics Noise A
ATX12V Version 3.1
Continuous Power W 1200 Watts
Fan Bearing Technology FDB
Fan Size MM 140mm
Multi GPU Ready Yes
Modular Fully
MTBF Hours 100,000 hours
PSU Form Factor ATX
Zero RPM Mode Yes
80 PLUS Efficiency Platinum
Warranty 10 Year
Weight 4.4

Packaging & Unboxing

The box’s design and aesthetic are right on point with Corsair’s theme. We get the yellow highlighter color; you can see the PSU’s design up front with several branding (ATX 3.0, Cybenetics, 10-year warranty, and iCUE support).

The back of the box provides some important details about the PSU, including its specifications as well as efficiency and noise level graphs. There are more branding logos here as well like Zero RPM mode, Cybenetics, and 80+ Platinum. Overall, the box has a premium feel, and I don’t expect anything less from Corsair.

Corsair HX1200i Open Box
Opening The Box (Image By Tech4Gamers)

The power supply is safely protected in an egg carton box, so you don’t have to worry about shipping causing any damage (fingers crossed). The accessories and cables come in a separate box.

Design

The fan side of the PSU looks quite decent. I personally love the triangular design Corsair goes within all of their peripherals (looking at you, 4000D). The white fan blades are clearly visible (more on the fan later).

The entire front plate is a single piece with 4 main screws holding it in place. The back side has the power cable port, a power switch, and the HX1200i branding.

The side of the PSU is surprisingly simple. There is no gamer-ey vibe or anything. It is just the basic logo and nothing else. On the other side, you can go over the specifications and in-depth power details of the PSU.

Cable & Connectors

Here is the list of all connectors:

Cable Type Quantity
ATX Connector 1
EPS Connector 2
SATA Connector 8
PATA Connector 8
PCIe Connector 4

Take a look at the modular bay below:

We were extremely disappointed that we did not see a native 12VHPWR connector in the HX1200i. Corsair doesn’t seem to use this native connector in any of their latest PSUs, which is quite weird to us. There may be many people who would want to use a custom-designed 12VHPWR cable, and adding extra length to the 600W-rated 12VHPWR cable (if adding a custom-designed cable) is really not recommended! So you are limited to using Corsair’s own 12VHPWR cable, which also comes in white.

Teardown & Component Analysis

Corsair has a long term relation with CWT (Channel Well Technology) and they have been a major OEM for Corsair for their CXM, RMx, RMe & HXi PSUs lineup, and because CWT’s latest ATX3.X iterations’ performance has surprised many brands, Corsair didn’t have to look elsewhere for their latest PSUs this time as well.

Corsair HX1200i Internal Layout
Internal Layout (Image By Tech4Gamers)

We have seen a similar platform in BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 13 1300W (hyperlink), but that was before ATX3.0 specifications disrupted the PSU market. Corsair HX1200i uses the latest and a Semi-digital platform from CWT, which utilizes digitally controlled Interleaved PFC for platinum-rated efficiency

Full-Bridge and LLC topology on the primary side reduces conversion losses and minor voltage rails are being generated via DC-DC converters. The platform is clean with a large heatsink for Interleaved PFC & 2 Bridge Rectifiers and a separate heatsink for Full Bridge converters, consisting of 4 MOSFETs for primary voltage conversion.

1300W of heavy load is being handled via two separate Transformers linked in parallel. Though this approach often leads to high voltage ripples, but because Corsair puts a great effort in tweaking their PSUs for better performance specifically for voltage ripples, we don’t expect this to be any major issue. Using two separate Transformers also greatly improves thermal performance.

Corsair’s HXi series, being a high-end and high-performance PSU, extensively used top-of-the-line Japanese Electrolytic as well as Polymer capacitors. Using 100% Japanese capacitors is going to make this PSU easily surpass its 10 years of long warranty, so we don’t know why Corsair didn’t market this PSU with 12 years of warranty, which some brands have started doing in their high-end lineups.

Being a Semi-digital platform with microcontrollers handling most of the crucial functionality, Corsair’s HXi series also gives its users Software Controlled feature via Corsair’s iCUE utility program (when using Corsair Link cable), where a user not only gets to monitor Input/Output power parameters, but they can also tune in fan curves, manual OCP triggering points for individual 12V connectors for GPU/Processor which can be quite handy in knowing how much power is being consumed by GPU and CPU independently.

Unlike other brands, Corsair uses its own specially designed Fluid Dynamic Bearing fans for quieter operation. HX1200i uses the same 140mm fan, which only spins when you load the PSU at around 650W. This semi-passive feature is going to give a fully silent experience.

PRO TIP: Use Corsair’s iCUE software to monitor power parameters and adjust fan curves. This can help you fine-tune performance and maintain optimal temperatures.

PSU Load Testing

Corsair HX1200i Testing
Corsair HX1200i Testing (Image By Tech4Gamers)

12V & Minor Voltage Rails Regulation

Difference Regulation (1000W+, July First Week Testings-2)
Difference Regulation (Image By Tech4Gamers)
Load in % 12V 5V 3.3V
20% 11.99V 5.05V 3.30V
50% 11.89V 5.05V 3.30V
70% 11.86V 5.04V 3.29V
90% 11.85V 5.04V 3.29V
100% 11.85V 5.04V 3.29V

Voltage regulation is good, but we have seen better results from the competing brands using platforms similar to CWT.

PSU Efficiency

Average Efficiency (1000W+, July First Week Testings-2)
Average Efficiency (Image By Tech4Gamers)
Load in % Power Factor Efficiency
20% 0.954 92.30%
50% 0.987 93.00%
70% 0.991 92.92%
90% 0.993 92.48%
100% 0.995 92.08%

We found efficiency numbers to be not that great for a Platinum-rated PSU. A slight letdown for a Semi-digital Interleaved PFC design PSU.

Voltage Ripple Performance

Max Ripple (1000W+, July First Week Testings-2)
Max Ripple (Image By Tech4Gamers)
Load in % Voltage Ripple
20% 6.4mV
50% 7.2mV
70% 8mV
90% 10mV
100% 11.2mV

Most of Corsair’s R&D goes around perfecting their PSUs for better voltage ripple performance, which greatly helps in achieving extreme OCing, especially when one is using exotic cooling solutions like LN2.

Our test results clearly reflect how well they have tuned the HX1200i. A mere 11mV ripple at max 1200W is surprisingly excellent!

Temperatures

Thermal performance has been really good throughout different loads and only reaches 47.6C at the maximum hottest point on its back.

Should You Buy it?

Buy It If

✅You want a future-proof PSU: The Corsair HX1200i can keep pumping its juice with the exact same taste (performance) for many future high-end upgrades to come.

✅You plan to overclock: Given its stability and sheer performance, the HX1200i is a great choice for overclocking.

✅You hate noise: At up to 650W, I basically enjoyed a semi-silent experience, which is very impressive.

Don’t Buy It If

❌You have space issues: Given the size, make sure your case can handle the large size of the PSU. 

My Thoughts

High-end extreme OCing enthusiasts used to love Corsair’s AXi series PSUs; Corsair tried their best to match the same performance level in their latest ATX 3.0 compatible HX1200i, and although they did perform exceptionally well in voltage ripple, our expectations were not met in other tests.

Community Poll

Loading poll ...
Coming Soon
How much does a brand's reputation influence your purchasing decision for a PSU?

Coming Next: CORSAIR SF1000L SFX Gold Review

 
Was our article helpful? 👨‍💻

Thank you! Please share your positive feedback. 🔋

How could we improve this post? Please Help us. 😔

Join Our Community

Still having issues? Join the Tech4Gamers Forum for expert help and community support!

Related articles

Corsair HX1000i Platinum ATX 3.0 Review: High-End With A Few Hiccups

The Corsair HX1000i PSU, part of the top-tier HXi series, offers a robust 1000W output and complies with ATX 3.0/3.1 specs. Its design features high-quality Japanese components and a quiet fluid dynamic bearing fan.

Corsair RM850e Gold ATX 3.0 PSU In-Depth Review: Is It Worth It?

The Corsair RM850e is an affordable ATX 3.0 PSU perfect for budget-conscious gamers, delivering solid performance and reliability. While it uses non-Japanese capacitors and a rifle bearing fan, it still offers impressive efficiency and acceptable voltage regulation.

Enermax PlatiGemini 1200W Platinum Review: Unbeatable Performance

The Enermax PlatiGemin 1200W Platinum takes the crown with its robust build, top-tier efficiency, and exceptional performance. It has a fully modular design, premium mesh-sleeved cables, superior voltage regulation, and excellent thermal management.

Enermax D.F.12 Revolution 850 White Gold: Small Yet Mighty

The Enermax D.F. 12 Revolution 850W PSU offers compact design, advanced ATX 3.1 features, and impressive performance. It's perfect for compact builds, featuring a 115mm dual ball bearing fan with Dust Free rotation, high-quality Japanese capacitors, and a fully modular design.

What Is The 12VHPWR Cable?

The 12VHPWR cable (12 Volts High Power Cable) is a 16-pin power connector that can deliver up to 600W of power.

Similar Guides