Introduction

XPG stands for Xtreme Performance Gear. XPG is an enthusiast gaming brand from ADATA focusing on eSports, PC Enthusiasts and gamers. XPG family of products include PC Systems including desktop and laptops, Memory Modules, Solid State Drives, PSUs, PC Chassis, Cooling solutions, RGB Accessories. Gaming peripherals include gaming mouse, keyboards, and headsets. XPG is committed to bring excellence in their products with reliability, durability, and performance in focus. Their designs have won several IF Design and GOOD Design awards.

XPG has released their full range of gaming products in Pakistan through their sole distributor PACIFIC Computers. They have also worked out to launch their products on Daraz.PK. XPG has sent us a couple of products to review before the launch of their gaming products in Pakistan as a part of marketing campaign.

In this article we shall be taking a look at XPG Spectrix D50 2x8GB 3600MHZ White edition DDR4 kit. These kits are available in two colors; Tungsten Gray and White. The kit we are testing is White edition. The maximum rated speed on these kits is 4800MHz with the maximum density per module of 32GB. These kits are available in:

  • 8GB x 1
  • 16GB x 1, 8GB x2
  • 32GB x 1, 16GB x2

XPG is offering limited lifetime warranty on their memory modules. The kit we got is rated for 3600MHz frequency (Bandwidth of PC4-28800). The kit comes with timing of CL18-20-20-42 at 1.35V. The kit supports XMP 2.0 making it compatible with Intel 100, 200, 300, 400 series chipsets and X99/299 series as well. These kits are also compatible with AMD Ryzen platform. These kits have cris-cross design and elegant styling using geometric lining on the heat spreader. Least to mention these kits have RGB lighting on them. The RGB lighting has been kept to minimalistic design.

Product:                Spectrix D50 16GB White

Manufacturer:         XPG

Price:                     Rs.18,999 [DARAZ pricing at the time of the review]

Specifications

Packaging and Unboxing

The kit is shipped inside a paperboard packing box.

The kit is compatible with:

  • ASUS AURA SYNC
  • GIGABYTYE RGB FUSION 2.0
  • MSI MYSTIC LIGHT SYNC
  • ASRock RGB LED

U-DIMM is printed in 22 languages. There are cutouts on the main packing box from which the Labels on the DIMMs can be read. The part number is AX4U360038G18A-DW50. These kits are made in Taiwan.

Both modules are placed inside a transparent container.

What’s inside?

The packing box comes with:

  • 2x Memory Modules

Closer Look

Let’s take a closer look at the kit followed by the test results with overclocking.

The XPG Spectrix D50 are available in multiple of 8GB/16GB and 32GB modules. There is no less than 8GB module and maximum density per module is 32GB. These kits supports maximum of 4800MHz frequency with minimum of 3000MHz frequency. This particular series kits come in 8GB x 1, 16GB x 1, 8GB x 2, 32GB x 1, and 16GB x2 configurations. Our kit has two modules with capacity of each being 8GB. The XMP has two profiles stored in it:

  • Profile 1 has 3600MHz speed with timing of 18-20-20-42 at 1.35V
  • Profile 2 has 3200MHz speed with timing of 16-18-18-36 at 1.35V

So, make sure to load the Profile 1 if your motherboard supports it. It is Non-ECC, Unbuffered DIMM with 288-pin layout (DDR4). These kits are tested for Intel and AMD platforms for reliability and compatibility and are XMP 2.0 ready. The timings of this kit are lose at 3600MHz. I would have loved to see 3600MHz using CL16 to make it a sweet spot. I was able to manual tune the timing to 16-19-19-36 using 1.42V at 3600MHz.

Looking at the front side of the module, we have a white color heat spreader made of 1.95mm metal, running across the entire length of the module. There is a small size cutout in a triangular design on the top in the center of the heat spreader through which the diffuser can be seen with RGB LEDs underneath. I like the minimalistic design towards the RGB exposure on the sides on these kits. The heat spreader is following the criss-corss design with geometric lining in an elegant and beautiful manner to my personal liking. The height of the kit is 40mm only which is another advantage for this kit. There is an XPG branding towards the lower right side on the front. The white color looks dope in person and with RGB lighting, we have a total killer looks on this kit. Good Job XPG as we have a solid build quality at our hands with low weight modules. The heat spreader is not fully covering the PCB which is understandable as certain portion of the PCB has to be put in the lockers/latches of the DIMM slots on the motherboard.

The RGB LED diffuser is running across the full length of the module. There is no obstruction or design element to cutout the light pattern anywhere across the length. We have XPG branding in the middle. The heat spreader has taken over a bit on the sides of the diffuser which makes the overall design sitting in harmony and well synced. The width of each module is 8mm which is usually 7mm on the other kits. This may restrict the AIO blocks with tube ends facing the DIMM slots.

The backside of the module is identical to the front side except that there is a sticker on the right side with the part number, timing, speed and voltage of the kit printed on it. Removing the sticker would void the warranty. Serial number is also printed on the sticker. The XPG branding is on the lower left side.

The kit has a black color, 8-layered A2 type PCB. We can see ICs on both sides that could mean same PCB is being used for all the capacities. Our kit has single sided modules. There are four memory chips on the left side and four on the right side.

There is what seems to be a single thin thermal pad running across the entire length of the heat spreader on the populated and non-populated side. As is the case with DDR4s, there is no chip in the middle of the PCB which is standard design layout.

Compatibility

The dimension of a module is 40×133.35x8mm (HxLxW). The total height of a module is 40mm including the 288-pins connector. You would need to keep that in mind for the CPU cooler as there is no point if the RGB enabled modules are blocked or hidden under the cooler. Similarly a 8mm width may obstruct the block of the AIO cooler with the tube side facing the DIMM slots. This is so as majority of the RAM modules have overall 7mm or so thickness. I am mentioning this from the compatibility point of view.

Speaking of the RGB Illumination, this kit is compatible with:

  • ASUS AURA SYNC
  • GIGABYTE RGB FUSION 2.0
  • MSI MYSTIC LIGHT SYNC
  • ASRock POLYCHROME SYNC

As can be seen, the  lighting on the Spectrix D50 is fully compatible with almost all of the RGB enabled solutions from various manufacturers. I have tested the kit on MSI MAG Z490 TOMAHAWK. Kit was detected by the MYSTIC LIGHT SYNC application and controlling the RGB lighting was an easier task. This would also allow for color coordination for the themed builds and using the motherboard’s light control application would reduce the need for using multiple RGB lighting control software.

Here are some pictures of the RGB lighting:

 

Out kit is using Hynix D-Die. The package is standard monolithic 78-ball FBGA. Die Density is 8 Gb D-Die (17 nm) with composition of 1024M x8 (64Mb x8 x16 banks). This kit is XMP 2.0 certified with 18-20-20-42-62 at 1.35V. This kit has two XMP profiles stored on it. The second profile (XPM Extreme) is rated at 1600MHz using 16-18-18-36-54 timing at 1.35V. The part number of the Hynix chips is H5AN8G8NDJR-VKC. Without XMP this kit would operate at 2666MHz using 19-19-19 at 1.20V.

Testing

I have used this kit on new Intel test bench based on 10th generation Core i7 10700k. Here is the configuration:

We are thankful to our sponsors for this test bench; Intel and MSI. The kit has been tested using AIDA64 Extreme, Performance Test and SiSoftware Sandra suite. XMP was loaded for the tests. Both profiles have been tested for the graphs. The CPU was on Stock, Auto settings including the voltage and core clocks. The kit was overclocked manually. The XMP loaded the manufacturer’s rated DRAM timings and Voltages.

For comparison the T-Force Night Hawk RGB DDR4 kit at 3200MHz is included in the graphs which was tested on the same bench. That kit is using Hynx C-die. I loaded the XMP and then set the primary timings manually in the UEFI/BIOS. This was done to lock the timings so as BIOS won’t change the timing with manually overclocking the frequency of the kit. My first attempt is to bump the frequency range with the same rated timing to achieve the higher frequency. This is done till the stability is lost. I had to raise the VCCIO and VCCSA voltages to 1.25V and 1.35V respectively. The DRAM voltage was set to 1.42V for the 3800MHz with same speed and 1.50V for the 3900MHz. Surprisingly, this kit has shown a little less headroom for overclocking on the Intel platform. The next step was to load the XMP Profile 1 and start reducing the timing. I was able to achieve 16-19-19-36 at 1.40V which makes this kit a sweet spot at 3600MHz using CL16.  I was able to push the kit to 3900MHz with the same timing of 18-20-20-42 at 1.50V DRAM voltage.

The above is a CPU-Z screenshots showing the RAM at various frequencies. The maximum I was able to hit was 3900MHz at 1.50V DRAM voltage.

AIDA64 Memory benchmark has shown that there was 6% performance boost in Read speeds when the kit was overclocked to 3900MHz. 3.7% performance boost was observed in the Write speeds. 5.6% performance boost is reported in the Copy speeds. We have a marginal boost which is expected there is only 300MHz increase in the frequency over the 3600MHz frequency.

The latency was improved to 45.8ns at 3900MHz coming from 52ns on XMP profile 1. We saw a good latency on 3600MHz using CL16 where the latency was 46.8ns over the 52ns on XMP.

The performance boost of up to 7% was also observed in the SiSandra Memory Bandwidth MT test.

The performance boost of up to 5.9% was also observed in the SiSandra Memory Bandwidth 1T test.

There was a 3.2% performance boost from the Memory overclocking.

Conclusion

XPG has launched their full range of gaming products in the local market. They sent us the Spectrix D50 16GB kit for the review. These kits come in tungsten gray and white colors with minimum frequency of 3000MHz and maximum frequency of 4800MHz. We have employed the kit on our newly established test bench featuring the Intel i7 10700k and MSI MAG Z490 TOMAHAWK. These kits come in density of:

  • 8GB x1
  • 16GB x 1, 8GB x 2
  • 32GB x 1, 16GB x 2

Out kit is using Hynix D-Die on the standard package of monolithic 78-ball FBGA. Die Density is 8 Gb D-Die (17 nm) with composition of 1024M x8 (64MB x8 x16 banks). Each module has a dimension of 133.35 x 40 x 8mm (LxWxH). The heat spreader has criss-cross pattern with geometric lining and finishing in an elegant manner making these kits stand out with their simple yet beautiful design footprint. There is a triangular designed cutout on the heat spreader in the center through which the RGB lighting peeks out. The white color on the heat spreader looks dope in person. There is minimalistic branding on the modules which I appreciate.

The diffuser on the top runs to the entire length of the PCB without any design. There is XPG branding on the center here as well. The overall height of 40mm gives this kit an advantage over the tall modules. The heat spreader is made of 1.95mm metal. The 8mm width may have compatibility consideration for the water blocks of the AIO coolers with their tubes facing the DIMM slots. Using a 2 modules configuration would eliminate the last consideration.

The kit has a black color PCB with ICs on both sides indicating that standard PCB is being used for all capacities. Our kit is a single sided one. It has 4 Hynix chips each of 1GB on the left side of the PCB and same 4 chips on the right side. As is the case with the DDR4s, there is no chip in the center of the PCB. There is a single thin thermal pad running on the entire length of the heat spreader on the populated and non-populated side.

Speaking of the RGB illumination this kit is compatible with wide range of RGB solutions from the various manufacturers including ASUS, MSI, GIGABYTE, and ASRock. The user can control the lighting through the motherboard’s lighting software/utility which is wise implementation as it would remove or reduce the requirement of using multiple lighting software at a time that could cause lighting issue on cross platform.

This kit has little head room for overclocking as we have observed during testing on the Intel platform. I was able to push the kit to mere 3900MHz over rated 3600MHz frequency but using the same timing. For that DRAM voltage was set to 1.50V. The VCCIO and VCCSAS were set to 1.25V and 1.350V respectively. There is a marginal gain with this overclock. The timings were tuned to achieve CL16 on the 3600MHz with stability using 1.40V DRAM. This is a sweet spot.

The kit is listed at Rs.18,999/-at the time of the review. 16GB kit with 3600MHz at such a good price is definitely a Pro for this kit though this is mainly due to the lose timing on Hynix D-die. 3600MHz CL16 is a sweet spot in my opinion. I was able to achieve CL16 on 3600MHz on this kit though this kit does not have that high headroom for the overclocking.

We are thankful to the XPG for the opportunity to review the Spectrix D50 DDR4 3600MHz white kit.

Tech4Gamers Recommended Award